may pole nonce

Married Morris dancer dubbed ‘Mr Floppy’ who had sex with a 12-year-old schoolgirl at his engineering firm and promised to run away to Greece with her is jailed for six years

  • Clive Royales’s victim told his now ex-wife what had happened 14 years later
  • Father-of-two had been on secret dates with girl and promised to start new life
  • Aged 30 he stole her virginity after they met at cricket match he was sponsoring
  • He was jailed after being convicted of indecent assault following two retrials

Clive Royales, 50, had sex with a 12-year-old girl at his business, church and cricket club

A married Morris dancer who had sex with a 12-year-old schoolgirl at his engineering business and promised to run away with her to Greece has been jailed for six years.

Clive Royales, 50, was unmasked as a sexual predator when his victim approached his now ex-wife Gillian 14 years later to reveal what had happened and ask for her forgiveness.

The father-of-two, who called himself ‘Mr Floppy’, had been on secret dates with the girl over two years – during which he promised to start a new life with her on board a boat moored off a Greek island.

But Royales, from Oldham, was jailed at Minshull Street Crown Court in Manchester after being found guilty of indecent assault following two retrials.

The court heard he was 30 when he stole her virginity after they met at a cricket match he was sponsoring, before they had sex three times a week – including on Sundays when he dropped his wife and children at church.

The pair, who chose 2000 hit Groovejet by Spiller as ‘our song’, had sex on Royales’s desk at work and also in his Volkswagen car after he collected her from school during her lunch break.

They broke up in 2000 after Royales left Gillian for another woman he been dating.

But although the girl confided in loved ones, police were not called in until 2014 when the victim – now a married woman in her 30s – was struck down by anxiety attacks and blamed them on the liaisons she had years earlier with Royales.

The father-of-two had been on secret dates with the girl over two years - during which he promised to start a new life with her

The married Morris dancer called himself 'Mr Floppy',

The father-of-two and married Morris dancer, who called himself ‘Mr Floppy’, had been on secret dates with the girl over two years – during which he promised to start a new life with her

It later emerged that teammates at Royale’s Sunday league football team suspected he and the girl were having a fling when they noticed her being ‘huggy and clingy’ with him during matches – but did not say anything to police.

Royales was almost found out by his wife when she discovered a sex toy in his car – but he claimed he had bought it to help spice up their marriage.

His ex-wife had given evidence against him at an earlier hearing, and told how the victim had spoken to her during an emotionally-charged meeting in her back garden before asking if she could go with her to the police station to make a statement.

Sentencing Royales, Judge Bernadette Baxter told him: ‘She thought she was in love with you and thought that you were her boyfriend but you entered into this selfish and wholly inappropriate relationship with her for your own sexual gratification.

‘It is obvious now the impact that relationship has had on her as an adult and she suffers from anxiety, depression and psychological factors and it doesn’t take much thought to understand why. You have shown no remorse.’

The court heard the pair began seeing each other in 1998 when she bumped into Royales at a cricket club pavilion in Heyside while she was drunk on Smirnoff Ice.

Afterwards they went back to his home where they kissed in the kitchen. She told police: ‘I remember him telling me that I looked really beautiful. He said “you can’t be a virgin” and in between these chats there was kissing.

‘The next time was when we had sex, on his desk at work. I was a virgin when I had sex with him the first time. After that I remember him saying he was really nervous and if he got caught he would be in so much trouble.

The court heard the pair began seeing each other in 1998 when she bumped into Royales at a cricket club pavilion in Heyside (pictured) while she was drunk on Smirnoff Ice

The court heard the pair began seeing each other in 1998 when she bumped into Royales at a cricket club pavilion in Heyside (pictured) while she was drunk on Smirnoff Ice

‘I saved his number in my phone in case anyone checked as “Mr Floppy”. We would always have sex on a Sunday morning when his wife and children went to church.

‘We started telling people we were going jogging but we would go back to his house and have sex. He would pick me up from school at dinner and would drive down to the park and we would have sex in his car there.

‘Then sometimes if his wife was going out I would go over to his home. On Sundays we would go to their bedroom. He used to drop his wife off at church at about 10.15am and then he would come and pick me up.

‘Then he would drop me off and pick her up. He told me he had sex with his wife and he would tell me about it and tell me she was better and did I want her to be better?

‘It became more frequent. I didn’t realise at the time but now I do realise. I was in love with him. He said we would move to Greece as soon as I was 16 and live on a boat. It sounds so stupid now – I feel like why would anyone believe that?’

She added: ‘It all ended when his wife kicked him out – I thought it was because of me but it wasn’t. Then I told my brother. He did say that he had his suspicions. I was 14 or 15 when I got with my husband and he knew I was not an innocent young girl.

‘We got together the night they split up. He knew something was not right because he was a bit older and he was like “let’s go to the pictures” and I was like “no, let’s have sex”.

‘I made up a story and told him I had a boyfriend and we split up and that’s how I knew what I did. I believed we were in love, that he loved me as well as I loved him and when I was old enough we would leave together.

‘When he left to go and live with another woman I was scared that it was my fault that I created this and he had left his wife because of what happened between us – I felt hurt. He made me feel special yet I was not special because I was not the only one.

Royales was jailed at Minshull Street Crown Court (pictured) in Manchester after being found guilty of indecent assault following two retrials

Royales was jailed at Minshull Street Crown Court (pictured) in Manchester after being found guilty of indecent assault following two retrials

‘I still loved him. I told his wife what happened before I went to the police and I told her I was sorry. She said it was not my fault. His wife is a strong woman – she’s a lot stronger than me.

‘There are no grudges I hold against him and I would not make this up. I’ve come to realise that the problem is this and I’m confronting that now. I didn’t feel like I’d been abused until recently.. I tried to put it away and block it out.’

Gillian said she learned of the relationship when she was approached at her home by the victim in 2014. She said: ‘I asked her if everything was OK and she broke down crying. I said “what’s the matter?” and she was physically shaking.

‘Her first words were, “don’t hate me”. My instinct was to give her a hug. I said, “what’s the matter?” She said, “I have to tell you that Clive groomed me and had sexual relations with me'” I asked when and she said, “right up until when you separated with him”.

‘I held her hand and said everything was OK. I said, “do you want to go to the police?” She said “yes, please” and asked me to go with her. She said it happened when I was in church with the children on Sundays.’

Family friend David Curtis, who had Royales as best man at his wedding, said: ‘At the time I didn’t know how old the girl was but I thought he was playing a dangerous game.

‘It was not really my business and he was perfectly capable of making his own decisions but I knew what he was doing was at the least immoral.’

Royales, who has been ordered to sign the sex offender register, admitted having an affair with another woman but denied having a relationship with the girl.

He said: ‘At that time things between me and Gillian were not great. I told her I was seeing somebody else and had been for some time but we were willing to try and get through.’

‘I have no idea why the complainant is making these allegations against me there’s no truth in them whatsoever. I think Gillian has got an axe to grind with myself. It never happened.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4558116/Morris-dancer-sex-girl-aged-12-jailed.html#ixzz4igIVNOAQ
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Leave a Reply

